top of page
Web Banner 010124b.png
Web Banner 010124b.png

Kanab High School Theatre takes region

Competition team members of the Kanab High School Theatre program pictured are Mia Thebeau, Faith Povey, Meghan Fryer, Emmie Tait, Spencer Douglass, Mrs. Mariah Wheeler, Kaylen Troutman, Madison Patton, Kayley Brinkerhoff, Andrew Clarkson, Elise Donoho, Kellen Cotter, Katherine Ballard, Dallin Corry, Trevor Legler, MaKayla Bartlett, Mia Kabella, Mikayla Jones, Nakita Gonzales, Clarissa Bowman, Mrs. Kylie Shepherd, Ridlee Peterson, Summer Swenson, Veronika Wilhelm, Corban Kerr, Nathan Unsworth, Andy Luo, Zoe Glover, Emma Holland, Jadon Sanders, Codie Dokos, Miranda Kirby. Not pictured: Ethan Swenson, Robert Peterson, Mr. Jason Kirby, Mrs. Kaycy Kirby and Mr. Dave Owens.

March 31, 2022, dawned with an early start for Kanab High School theatre students and directors as they made their way sleepily to the school to begin the Region 19 Theatre competition.

The energy in the air at the high school was electric as students from Beaver, Enterprise, Parowan, South Sevier, San Juan and Kanab came together in the gymnasium and sounds of rehearsals drifted around the gymnasium as students prepared to compete for placings in eight categories: One Act, Classical Scenes from a play, Contemporary Scenes from a play, Dramatic Monologue, Humorous Monologue, Pantomime, Musical Theatre and Sweepstakes. Points for achievement were awarded for each competitor towards the grand prize, the overall team sweepstakes, entitling the winner as Region Champions.

Kanab High School won this award and placed their trophy alongside the last region drama champion trophy for KHS, which was won in 1981.

Students of the KHS Theatre Department received high points in their rounds and many of them advanced to the medal rounds, an automatic advancement to the state competition. High achievements and specialty awards were claimed by KHS theatre as follows: One Act - Perfect Score and first place; Best Actress - Kayley Brinkerhoff; Best Supporting Actor - Andy Luo; Best Character Actor - Jadon Sanders; and Best Set Design. Medalists are as follows: Classical Scenes - second place Andy Luo and Elise Donoho, “Nobody’s Child”; Contemporary Scenes – second place Kayley Brinkerhoff and Madison Patton, “Undertow”; Pantomime - third place Andrew Clarkson “Pay Toilet”; Technical Theatre Costume Design - first place Nakita Gonzales; Technical Theatre Scenic Design - first place MaKayla Bartlett, second place Emma Holland, third place Ethan Swensen; Musical Theatre – third place Kayley Brinkerhoff and Elise Donoho, “Some things Are Meant To Be” - Little Women.

Directors of the program, Mariah Wheeler, Kylie Shepherd, Kaycy Kirby, Jason Kirby and Dave Owens are proud of their team. They look forward to taking them to the state competition held at the end of April.

Mark your calendars now for an upcoming performance featuring these award-winning competitors at the annual KHS Spring Theatre Showcase, scheduled for performances, Wednesday, May 4 through Friday, May 6, 2022. This showcase boasts a different performance every night! We hope you will plan to join us for three nights of quality high school theatre! KHS Theatre - Let’s Play!

208 views0 comments



bottom of page