top of page
Web Banner 010124b.png
Web Banner 010124b.png

Kane County Commission meeting sees swearing in of new officials

The Commission met at 10:00 a.m. on Tuesday, January 3, 2023 at the Kane County Courthouse for the swearing in of the county’s newly elected officials. The Commission Chambers at the Kane County Courthouse was filled to capacity, with about 40 friends, family, and interested citizens filling the seats, lining the walls, and overflowing into the chamber entrance and the hallway beyond. The mood in the room was cheerful, with attendees greeting each other warmly and chatting before the event.

Left to right:

  • Billie Lamb, Wade Heaton, Chameil Lamb, Celeste Meyeres, and Patty Kubeja.

  • Chameil Lamb, Wade Heaton, Tracy Glover, Celeste Meyeres, and Patty Kubeja.

  • Chameil Lamb, Wade Heaton, Patty Kubeja, and Celeste Meyeres.

  • Chameil Lamb, Wade Heaton, Celeste Meyeres, and Patty Kubeja.

The meeting was called to order by Commissioner Wade Heaton, who welcomed the attendees. Pastor Doug Hounshell of Cliffview Chapel provided the invocation, and Commissioner-elect Celeste Meyeres led the room in the Pledge of Allegiance. Commissioner Heaton noted that, “We wanted to have this as an official commission meeting and invite the public. We’re grateful that so many of you showed up.”

Chameil Lamb, the county’s new Clerk Auditor, was sworn-in first, as she’d be administering the oath to the rest of the officials. Chameil’s daughter Billie Lamb, a Notary Public, administered her oath.

banner ad

Celeste Meyeres was sworn-in next, taking her oath in front of the flag and receiving her certificate of election. Patty Kubeja followed, and the newly constituted commission consisting of Commissioner Wade Heaton, Commissioner Celeste Meyeres, and Commissioner Patty Kubeja took their seats to applause from the room.

Sheriff Tracy Glover took his oath next, administered by County Clerk Auditor Chameil Lamb.

Commissioner Heaton then offered an opportunity for the newly elected officials to address the meeting. Commissioner Meyers thanked the community for its support, going on to add, “It’s been a contentious and difficult year, and I do hope that we can come together as a team and move forward with like minds.” Commissioner Kubeja expressed her gratitude for the support she’s received, adding that, “Kane County is a wonderful place to be.” Clerk Auditor Lamb and Sheriff Glover also thanked the community for its support.

Commissioner Heaton commented that, “Elections are odd and wonderful things. I appreciate people that are willing to serve their communities and have the courage to put their names on the ballot.” Echoing Commissioner Meyeres’ remarks, Heaton went on to say, “We get so much more done when we’re working together. I think the vast majority of the people in this county want the same things,” adding, “When we cooperate and work together as a team, we can accomplish a lot more than if we focus on our differences.”

The commission next unanimously approved a Resolution Establishing Commission Assignments for 2023, a three-page document organized by the commissioners before the meeting and details of which can be found on the county’s website.

The meeting ended with a motion to adjourn at 10:17 a.m. The motion carried unanimously.

Kane County Commission meetings are held on the second and fourth Tuesdays of the month at 3:00 p.m. at the Kane County Courthouse. Join the meeting by phone at (435) 676-9000 using code 168030#. Recordings of the meetings can be found at

185 views0 comments



bottom of page