The field of eight candidates running for three open Kanab City Council seats was narrowed to six after the September 13 Primary Election.

Candidate Kirt Carpenter gathered the most primary votes with 530, Cheryl Brown-483, Victor Cooper-475, Jim Walls-452, Tony Chatterley-392 and Joe B. Wright-392. Removed from the general election race were candidates Debrah Fox with 354 and James West-210.

Great interest was sparked in the Kanab City Council race, with an original field of 11. The proposed coal gasification plant on Kanab’s south side has created a flurry of public interest in decisions made by the current Kanab City Council and its Planning and Zoning Commission.

According to the Kane County Clerk’s office, 3,288 votes were cast, resulting in a 45.5% voter turnout. There are four precincts within the Kanab City limits.

Three city council seats are up for election. Two incumbents, Cheryl Brown and Tony Chatterley, are seeking re-election. Brown had been appointed to fill a term that had been vacated after Shaun Smith resigned his position. Councilman Steve Mower did not seek re-election.

The General Election to fill the three Kanab City Council seats will be held on November 8, 2011.