Kanab residents wanting to vote in the September 13 Kanab City Primary Election have some fast approaching registration deadlines.

There are 10 candidates competing for the three open city council seats. (Candidate Daniel Church has withdrawn from consideration.) Incumbents Cheryl Brown (who was appointed to fill former Councilman Shawn Smith’s term), and Tony Chatterley are seeking re-election. Councilman Steve Mower is not running. Other candidates hoping to make the primary cut to six candidates are: Kirt Carpenter, James West, Joe B. Wright, Debrah Fox, Charley Wright, Jim Walls, Beth Kampschror and Victor Cooper.

The Kane County Clerk’s Office would like to remind voters who have not registered yet, there are two deadlines approaching. August 15 is the last day a new resident of Utah can register and establish a 30 day voting residence prior to the Primary. (Utah Code 20A-2-101)

August 29 is the last day people can register to vote! This must be done in person. (Utah Code 20A-2-201)

The Southern Utah News will feature candidate questions and answers in the weeks prior to the Primary. Good luck to all!