Eleven residents have thrown their hat into the race for three open Kanab City Council positions. The last day to file at the Kanab City office for candidacy was July 15.There will be an election for seats that Steve Mower, Tony Chatterley and Cheryl Brown (picked as a replacement for council member Shaun Smith), currently occupy.

Chatterley and Brown have filed to maintain their positions. Kirt Carpenter, James West, Joe B. Wright, Debrah Fox, Charley Wright, Jim Walls, Daniel Church, Beth Kampshor and Victor Cooper have also filed to be considered for the positions by the electorate.

Due to the large number of candidates in the non-partisan race, there will be a Primary on September 13 to narrow the field to six candidates.