Kanab High School Drama traveled to Parowan for State Drama Festival Friday and Saturday, April 15 and 16. They took with them 19 performers and support crew team, and brought home 15 superior medals (judged straight superiors by their judges). 

All performers received at least one superior grading that sealed the deal. KHS Drama brought home a superior team award. This is the highest honor our KHS Drama Team could achieve at state. Spirits were high on the ride home!

What a success, and what a talented group of students!

Josh Barton - Medal Winner - Humorous Monologue, Hannah Hegwood  - Medal Winner - Humorous Monologue, Kelsey Jackson - Superior/Excellent Rating - Humorous Monologue, Judah Evangelista - Medal Winner - Dramatic Monologue, Kylie Owens - Medal Winner - Dramatic Monologue, Hannah Zweifel - Superior/Excellent Rating - Dramatic Monologue, Lexie Cox - G/E/Superior Rating (the show must go on! Award) – Dramatic Monologue, Chris Nielson and Kyle Clarkson - Medal Winner – Pantomime, Johannah Bowman, Marissa Anderson and Kayla Chavez - Medal Winner – Contemporary Scene, Maddie Holland and Kim Schauwecker - Medal Winner - Classical Scene, Josh Barton and Judah Evangelista - Medal Winner - Musical Theatre, Landon Corteau and McKenna Terry - Medal Winner - Musical Theatre.

Kanab High School Drama does not hold bake sales or car washes. Our source of working capital for KHS Drama comes from ticket sales for their performances, and the businesses who advertise in the programs. We want to say a special thank you to those of you who came to our performances and supported a winning team this year!

KHS Drama also wants to thank Quality Printing, Honey’s Market Place, Frontier Movie Town, Terry Alderman Photography, John Polis and Jason Hegwood of Best Friends, and the Southern Utah News – thank you!

We also want to thank our faithful bus driver Clint Nielson! Our students love him, and he makes our bus trips special. He always chooses to drive for KHS Drama, and we are always  happy he does.

Wahoo - can’t wait for next year!