After most of the local races were decided in the primary, the mid-term elections held on Tuesday, November 2, didn’t have any surprises. After defeating Bill Bernard in Kane County Attorney race in the primary, Jim Scarth won the post with 1702 votes. Bernard, who waged a write-in campaign, picked up 353 votes.

Jim Matson and Dirk Clayson were elected to the Kane County Commission. Every other county position, with the exception of the School Board District 5 race, had the incumbents running unopposed. Lamont Smith-Sheriff, Karla Johnson-Clerk/Auditor, Linda Little-Assessor, Verjean Caruso-Recorder, Georgia Baca-Treasurer, and Loral Linton-School Board District 4 all retained their posts. In the only contested race, Brian Goulding picked up 275 votes to top Dustin Cox, who garnered 254 votes for the Kane School Board District 5 seat.

In the state-wide races, Republican Governor Gary Herbert defeated Democratic challenger Peter Corroon 64% to 32%. Dennis Stowell was unopposed for the State Senate seat #28, while Mike Noel was also re-elected to the State House District #73 seat. Dixie Allen was re-elected to the state school board, getting 72% of the votes, beating Johny Thayne, who had 28%.

Republican Mike Lee picked up 62% of the votes for the U.S. Senate seat now held by Bob Bennett. Lee defeated Democrat Sam Granato, who had 33%. Democratic Congressman Jim Matheson was elected to his fifth term in the U.S. House District 2, in an extremely close race with Republican challenger Morgan Philpot. Matheson received 51% of the votes, to Philpot’s 46%. Republican Rob Bishop had 69% of the vote to win re-election in District 1, defeating Democratic challenger Morgan Bowen, who had 24%. In District 3, Republican Jason Chaffetz also was relected handily, getting 72% of the votes cast, while Democratic challenger Karen Hyer had 23%.

In the race for school board in Fredonia, Marilyn Cox picked up 325 votes to pace the three members chosen. Ronald Johnson received 278 votes and C. Griffiths garnered 252, to win the other two spots, while Thomas Barron had 188 votes.

Kane County had 62% of its voters cast ballots.