The Kane County Republican Party nominating convention on April 16 at the Kanab High School held some surprises. A good turnout greeted the candidates for both local and state elected positions.

Running for Kane County Commission Seat A, currently held by retiring Commissioner Mark Habbeshaw, were candidates James Baker, Dirk Clayson and Roy Mackelprang. Clayson obtained over 70% of the delegate votes.

In the County Commission Seat B contest, candidate Jim Matson won the delegate election by getting over 70% as well, unseating incumbent Commissioner Daniel Hulet.

Clayson and Matson will go forward as the Republican candidates in the General Election.

In the Treasurer’s race, candidate Kevin Blomquist withdrew, leaving current Kane County Treasurer Georgia Baca facing challenger Duane Barnson. This race will go to the June Primary election.

The County Attorney’s race was very close, with current Kane County Attorney Jim Scarth facing his challenger, Deputy County Attorney William Bernard. This race will also go to the Primary to determine the Republican Party’s candidate.