Kanab resident Nina Laycook running unopposed will now hold the Kanab City Mayor position, replacing retiring two term Mayor Kim Lawson. Laycook, who garnered 819 votes, said budgetary issues will be the biggest challenge in the next four years.

“These are difficult times financially,” said Laycook. “We are, the city, not in bad shape, but we have to keep an eye on the budget. I hope to still move ahead with plans and projects as the budget allows.”

Two Kanab City Council seats were up for grabs. Incumbent Jim Sorenson was re-elected, getting the most votes with 623. Councilman Terril Honey did not seek another term. Shaun Smith and Ed Meyer were the other two candidates, with Meyer coming out victorious by a slim margin, getting 509 votes to Smith’s 459. 

“My election in the community reflects a moderate view,” said Meyer. “There is a desire in the community for a more moderate style of government.”

“I’m pleased with the election results in an off-year, said Jim Sorenson. “I look forward to working with Ed Meyer (Councilman), and Nina Laycook, (Mayor), as well as the current city council. I will try to do a good job in the next four years.”

Mid-term vacancies, like Laycook’s city council seat, are filled by the legislative body (Kanab City Council) who appoints a registered voter who meets the qualifications. Anyone interested in the position may submit their name to the council for consideration.

Three seats were up for grabs on the Kane County Hospital board. Newcomers Carol Sullivan and Gene Drake were the leading vote-getters with 729 and 713 respectively. Incumbent Debrah Fox retained the third seat with 688 votes. Incumbent Shayne Ramsay and Joshua Adams had 543 and 343 votes respectively.

The hotly-contested Cedar Mountain Fire Protection Special Service District had 14 people running for seven seats. Earning a spot on the board (and their votes) were Hernan Garreaud (115), Bryan Romney (79), Jeffrey Hoyt (79), Gerald Triebold (75), Butch O’Dell (71), Sharon Adams (70) and Michael Petullo (69). Others running were Eddie Sachetti (65), Pat Kohley (64), James Barbeau (62), William King (61), Richard Murn (60), Donald Yeater (48) and Chuck Brechler (43).

Merlin Esplin ran unopposed for Orderville Mayor and picked up 135 votes. Two seats were up for election on the Orderville Town Council. Martin Hepworth (101) and Brian Harris (79) were voted in, outpolling Tim Esplin (47) and Craig LeDuc (45).

Raleigh Franklin (64) edged Ellen Lamb (53) for the Glendale Mayor position. Elaine Spencer (80) and Jarad Brinkerhoff (76) were the victors in the Glendale City Council race over Paul Drew (57) and Lorraine Chamberlain (17). 

Claren Heaton won the Alton Mayor race with 20 write-in votes to edge Sharla Christie, who had 18. Brent Judd and Dustin Cox both received 41 votes to  win the two seats on the Alton Town Board. 

Jade McBride was elected the Mayor of Big Water with 105 votes. Henry Alexander picked up 28 votes and Michelle Tenney 8. Stewart Joseph (106) and Jennie Lassen (90) won the two Big Water Town Council seats, with Norma Hirschi (45) and Denise Muse (40) also running.