State, here we come! This past week, the Kanab cross country teams made their way to Parowan for the Region 13 cross country region championship. The meet was tough, but the Cowboys came out victorious in the end. 

The boy’s team worked and worked all season with region champs as the goal on the brain. Watching the boys run, it was difficult to see who would come out on top. All seemed nearly neck and neck. David Kirby came in fifth place, Matt Vaughn  was right behind in sixth, and Yanni Gallagher kicked up the speed to finish in seventh. All three boys qualified individually! 

When all the runners had finished, the points were added up and the situation’s intensity heightened. The outcome was a tie: Kanab and Millard both had 50 points each. Because they use the top five runner’s places as points, the deciding factor was now on to the sixth runner’s place on each team. The pressure was now on Ben Pace, our sixth runner for placement. After several nerve-wracking minutes, the winning team was announced - Kanab! Thus proving every point counts, even if you aren’t at the front of the pack.

Mrs. Kelly, a previous cross country coach, said she had never before seen a tie in a cross country race in all the years she had coached.

On the girl’s side, Kanab’s Lyndsey Robinson left the meet an individual region champion! This sophomore dominated the three-mile course, never allowing the remaining pack to come within striking distance. She made Kanab so proud when she crossed the finish line with a time of 20:56, well in front of the second place Millard girl, who finished in 21:22. 

Mariah Clayson, a freshman, came in with an impressive fourth place finish. Chelsea Vreeken placed eighth, and Jasmine Weiss was right behind her in ninth. All of these girls qualified for state individually and received a medal. Our girls team as a whole qualified as well. We were second in the region!

The cross country team will compete at State on Wednesday, October 21. Running at Sugarhouse Park, where state is being held, are David Kirby, Matt Vaughn, Aaron Downward, Yanni Gallagher, Taylor Armstrong, Ben Pace, Judah Evangelista, Lyndsey Robinson, Chelsea Vreeken, Jasmine Weiss, Mariah Clayson, Hannah Zweifel and Carley Barber.  Keep them in your thoughts as they all hope to run the race of a lifetime.