The South Sevier Rams won the 2014 Cowboy Classic with an outstanding defensive effort, holding the host Cowboys to only 27 points, on their way to a 41-27 victory. Kanab never scored in double digits in any of the four quarters. The Cowboys tallied nine points in the first quarter, and were only two points down, 11-9. A big second quarter by the Rams increased their lead to 10, 25-15 at the half. Another solid quarter in the third and South Sevier led 37-20 heading into the final period. Even though the Cowboys held the Rams to only four points in the fourth quarter, they could only manage seven of their own, to fall 41-27.

Sophomore Monte Glover netted six points, while pulling down nine rebounds to lead the Cowboys. Davin Houston had five points and five boards, while Dane Stewart added five points and three caroms. Derrik Fox pulled seven off the glass, while Layne Anderson snagged six. Kolten Bigelow led South Sevier with a double-double, scoring 15 points, while grabbing 12 rebounds.

Kanab made it to the championship game by edging the Desert Hills JV team 59-57, a last-minute fill-in when Gunnison bowed out. Davin Houston hit a big shot with four seconds left to give the Cowboys the “W.”

Layne Anderson was one rebound away from a double-double, leading Kanab with 14 points and nine boards. Zack Fryer netted 11, Dane Stewart 10 and Houston eight. Kade Jackson pulled down six rebounds and added four points.

This game went back and forth, with both teams going on big runs. Desert Hills led 16-13 after the first period of play. Kanab came back with a big second quarter and led 31-28 at the break. A big third frame saw Desert Hills outscore the Cowboys 19-9 to lead 47-40 going into the final stanza. A huge fourth frame saw Kanab claw back to tie the game at 57-57, setting the stage for Houston’s game-winner.

In the first game of the tournament on Monday, South Sevier came from behind in the fourth quarter to nip Bryce Valley 52-49. This game was tied 22-22 at the half, and Bryce Valley led 39-38 heading into the fourth period. Heath Dyson led the Rams with 14 points, while Trevor Jones had 13 and Kolten Bigelow 10.