Results of Garkane Energy’s Director elections were announced during each of the Cooperatives Annual Meeting Sessions held in Orderville, on April 21, 2009, and Loa, Utah, April 22, 2009.

Incumbent Directors, Terry Griffiths – Orderville, and Randy Brown – Kanab, ran unopposed and will continue to serve as board members for districts five and seven, respectively.

In Garkane District two, Garkane’s legal council Marcus Taylor, announced Trent Hunt – Loa, as the winner and new Director of District two.  Mr. Rick Oyler – Loa, ran against Director Hunt.

Featured speakers at the meeting sessions included Deseret Power’s CEO – Kimball Rasmussen and youth representatives from the 2008 UREA Youth Leadership Conference, Valley High School Senior Courtney Lamb, and Wayne High School Senior Jordan Lamb.  Garkane’s CEO Carl Albrecht also gave a report at each meeting. 

In accordance with the Cooperative’s Bylaws, Directors Hunt, Griffiths, and Brown will all serve three-year terms.  Garkane Board members will also elect board officers and representatives to Deseret Power (Garkane’s wholesale power supplier) and the Utah Rural Electric Association (Statewide organization) at the first regular board meeting following the annual meeting scheduled for Monday, May 18, 2009 in Kanab.