The Paria River District of the Boy Scouts of America held their annual recognition dinner on February 15 at the Kanab Kaibab LDS Stake Center.

District Chairman Kevin Maxwell was awarded the Silver Beaver Award. The nationally recognized award is given to a limited number of volunteers each year and it is the highest award a local council can give to recognize the accomplishments of Scouting volunteers.

Each year, the district recognizes leaders who have gone above and beyond what is expected by awarding the Second Miler Award. The following Scout volunteers received the Second Miler Award: Debra Hoyt, Arlene Sorensen, Ben Clarkson, Craig Baird, Duke Reidhead and Tom Avant. Congratulations Second Milers for all you have done for the youth of our communities.

The district’s top award, given to a few volunteers who have shown exceptional leadership in Scouting and their community, is the District Award of Merit. This year’s recipients were Harry Barber and Jim Anderson. Congratulations on many years of dedicated Scouting!

The Keynote Speaker was Randall Andreasen, Field Director for the Southern Utah portion of the Utah National Parks Council. Andreasen is responsible for Scouting in 10 Utah counties and three counties in Arizona and Nevada.

Andreasen spoke to the Scouts on what it means to be an Eagle Scout. It is not just earning the rank of Eagle. He challenged them to live a life of service and citizenship as an example to others of what they have become.

The highlight of the evening was the presentation of this past year’s Eagle Scouts. As a group, they have provided over 1500 hours of service through their Eagle projects which includes some of the following: Moccasin Cemetery expansion, making signs for hikers at Zion Canyon, painting the kiosks at the Kanab City Park picnic area, new bleacher seats at the Orderville City Park, building a steel sign frame and installing it at the Sage Grouse Habitat, rebuilding the paint ball course in Fredonia, installing a sidewalk to an outside gate at the city pool and installing a swimming pool cover, replacing the roof on the park pavilion and painting posts, improving Squaw Trail and replacing the old shot put ring with a discus ring at the football field.

Each of these projects involved planning, providing leadership to others, and making our communities better for all.

This year’s Eagle Scouts are Joshua Berry, Leighton Eddy, Kason Glover, Hayden Harris, Jesse Jacobs, Clayton Johnson, Mitchell Johnson, Lance Keller, David Kirby, Benjamin Pace, and Braxon Waite. Great job Scouts!